Skip to Main Content

Requirements - Clinical Specialization

The MS in Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases degree requires a total of 10 course units. The Clinical Specialization requires the student to complete or acquire an exemption or waiver from the courses listed below. Full-time students must take a minimum of 5-course units each semester. Course substitutions must be identified and approved by the student’s advisor and DGS.

2024-25 Matriculation

All courses count as 1 credit unless otherwise noted.

MS Required Courses for Clinical Specialization (9 course units)

  • EMD 525 Seminar in Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases - 0 units
  • EMD 526 Seminar in Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases - 0 units
  • EPH 505 Biostatistics in Public Health
  • EPH 508 Foundations of Epidemiology and Public Health
  • BIS 505 Biostatistics in Public Health II OR CDE 534 Applied Analytic Methods in Epidemiology
  • EMD 517 Principles of Infectious Disease I
  • EMD 518 Principles of Infectious Disease II
  • EMD 530 Health Care Epidemiology: Improving Health Care Quality through Infection Prevention OR EMD 536 Outbreak Investigations: Principles and Practice
  • EMD 567 Tackling the Big 3: Malaria, TB and HIV in Resource-Limited Settings OR EMD 533 Implementation Science
  • EPH 608 Frontiers of Public Health
  • Capstone: EMD 625 How to Develop, Write, and Evaluate an NIH Proposal OR EMD 563 Laboratory and Field Studies in Infectious Diseases

MS Electives in Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases (1 course unit)

Suggested electives include: EMD 531, EMD 537, EMD 541, EMD 546, EMD 580 and EMD 582. Alternative electives may be approved in consultation with student’s advisor and DGS.

*Students entering the program with an MPH or relevant graduate degree may be exempt from this requirement.