Skip to Main Content

Annual Research Awards


YSPH Early Career Investigator Research Prize: Zeyan Liew

Assistant Professor of Epidemiology (Environmental Health)

Association Between Estimated Geocoded Residential Maternal Exposure to Lithium in Drinking Water and Risk for Autism Spectrum Disorder in Offspring in Denmark. JAMA Pediatrics.

Co-Authors:Liew, Z., Meng, Q., Yan, Q., Schullehner, J., Hansen, B., Kristiansen, S. M., Voutchkova, D. D., Olsen, J., Ersbøll, A. K., Ketzel, M., Raaschou-Nielsen, O., & Ritz, B. R. (2023).

YSPH Investigator Research Prize: Yize Zhao

Associate Professor of Biostatistics

Genetic Underpinnings of Brain Structural Connectome for Young Adults. Journal of the American Statistical Association.

Co-authors: Yize Zhao, Changgee Chang, Jingwen Zhang & Zhengwu Zhang.

YSPH Team Science Prize: Robert Heimer and Lauretta Grau

Robert Heimer is Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases) and of Pharmacology; Affiliated Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health

Lauretta Grau is Research Scientist in Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases)

Receipt of opioid use disorder treatments prior to fatal overdoses and comparison to no treatment in Connecticut, 2016–17. Drug and Alcohol Dependence.

Co-authors: Heimer R, Black AC, Lin H, Grau LE, Fiellin DA, Howell BA, Hawk K, D’Onofrio G, Becker WC.

YSPH Team Science Prize: Caroline Johnson, Krystal Pollitt and Lingeng Lu

Caroline Johnson is Associate Professor of Epidemiology (Environmental Health Sciences)

Krystal Pollitt is Associate Professor of Epidemiology (Environmental Health); Affiliated Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health

Lingeng Lu is Research Scientist in Epidemiology (Chronic Diseases)

Perfluorooctanesulfonic Acid and Perfluorooctanoic Acid Promote Migration of Three-Dimensional Colorectal Cancer Spheroids. Environmental Science & Technology.

Co-authors: Zheng, J., Sun, B., Berardi, D., Lu, L., Yan, H., Zheng, S., Aladelokun, O., Xie, Y., Cai, Y., Godri Pollitt, K. J., Khan, S. A., & Johnson, C. H. (2023).

YSPH Impact Research Prize: Rafael Pérez-Escamilla

Professor of Public Health (Social and Behavioral Sciences); Director, Office of Public Health Practice; Affiliated Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health; Director, YSPH Global Health Concentration; Director, Maternal and Child Health Promotion (MCHP) Program

Breastfeeding: crucially important, but increasingly challenged in a market-driven world. Lancet.

Co-authors: Cecília Tomori, Sonia Hernández-Cordero, Phillip Baker, Aluisio J D Barros, France Bégin, Donna J Chapman, Laurence M Grummer-Strawn, David McCoy, Purnima Menon, Paulo Augusto Ribeiro Neves, Ellen Piwoz, Nigel Rollins, Cesar G Victora, Linda Richter

YSPH Impact Research Prize: David Paltiel and Gregg Gonsalves

David Paltiel is Professor of Public Health (Health Policy), Professor of Management, and Professor in the Institution for Social and Policy Studies; Co-director, Public Health Modeling Concentration; Affiliated Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health

Gregg Gonsalves is Associate Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases); Associate (Adjunct) Professor of Law, Yale Law School; Affiliated Faculty, Program in Addiction Medicine; Co-Director, Global Health Justice Partnership; Affiliated Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health

Increased HIV transmissions with reduced insurance coverage for HIV pre-exposure prophylaxis: Potential consequences of Braidwood Management v. Becerra. Open Forum Infectious Diseases

Co-authors: Ahmed AR, Jin EY, McNamara M, Freedberg KA, Neilan AM

Past Awards