Skip to Main Content

YSPH’s Ko, Krumholz Recognized for Influential Research

January 14, 2022

Two Yale School of Public Health faculty were recently recognized for their influential research.

Dr. Albert Ko, M.D., and YSPH affiliated faculty member, Dr. Harlan Krumholz, M.D., S.M., are among the researchers named to the 2021 Highly Cited Researchers™ list provided by Clarivate, a public analytics company. Seven researchers from the Department of Internal Medicine at the Yale School of Medicine are also on the list.

The annual list recognizes researchers who have produced multiple highly cited papers over the past decade.

Dr. Albert I. Ko, M.D., is an infectious disease physician and epidemiologist whose research has yielded critical insights into the health consequences of rapid urbanization and social inequity. He is former chair of the Epidemiology and Microbial Diseases department at the Yale School of Public Health and a professor of medicine (infectious diseases) at the Yale School of Medicine. He also is an attending physician at Yale New Haven Hospital. Ko was appointed the Raj and Indra Nooyi Professor of Public Health at YSPH on July 1, 2021.

Dr. Harlan Krumholz, M.D., S.M., is a cardiologist and scientist at Yale University and Yale New Haven Hospital. He is considered a leading expert in the science to improve the quality and efficiency of health care and eliminate disparities and promote equity. Dr. Krumholz is the Harold H. Hines Jr. Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and a professor in the Institute for Social and Policy Studies of Investigative Medicine and of Public Health (Health Policy). He is also director of the Yale Center for Outcomes Research and Evaluation (CORE), an organization dedicated to improving health and health care through research, tools and practices that produce discovery, heighten accountability and promote better public health and clinical care.

Members of the Department of Internal Medicine who were named to the list were:

Lieping Chen, M.D., Ph.D.

Scott N. Gettinger, M.D.

Roy S. Herbst, M.D., Ph.D.

Silvio E. Inzucchi, M.D.

David Rimm, M.D., Ph.D.

Gerald Shulman, M.D., Ph.D., MACP, MACE, FRCP

Mario Sznol, M.D.

Information from a news article written by Julie Parry in the Department of Internal Medicine was incorporated into this article.

Submitted by Colin Poitras on January 18, 2022